In the eight weeks after Trinity this year [2018] we will be focusing our attention on a few verses at the beginning of Matthew chapter 5. Commonly known as the Beatitudes, these are sayings of Jesus to his disciples at the start of his ministry with them.

Week one

Today we introduce the series reflecting on all the Beatitudes. You might like to think about:

  • What is the purpose of this passage?
  • What are all those ‘blesseds’ about?
  • How can we follow Jesus’ example?

Week two

Today we reflect on Jesus words, “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven”. You might like to think about:

  • Who are ‘the poor in spirit’?
  • How did Jesus respond (or not) to those who are poor in spirit? How did they respond to him?
  • How does that challenge us?

Week three

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted”.

Week four

“Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth”.

Week five

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled”.

Week six

“Blessed are the merciful, for they will receive mercy”.

Week seven

“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God”.

Week eight

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God”.

Week nine

“Blessed are those who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven”.